The Past in a Box

March 5, 2008

scan_3.jpg

I finally opened the box. The box of pictures that I brought home and put in a corner. The box of pictures that was my Grandmother’s past. My mother’s past. My own. I opened it to explore and learn what I am all about. Where I came from.

One of the pictures I assume is of the Panama Canal. Where my Grandfather was for a short time with the Army Air Corp. And on the back a note scribbled to my Grandmother so long ago. And over the note there is black scrapbook paper no longer connected to the book that is long gone. As I sat and tried to patiently uncover the words I felt an energy. A piece of my Grandfather coming from the pen he used to mark it. I was taken by the sudden sense that these were his words. They were written with a love for another that no one should die without knowing. I watched as the letters unfolded, how they curved and formed words and looked alot like my own writing. I wondered why it seemed the last word was please, as if he were begging her. If the love notes he wrote on these pictures he sent made my Grandmother blush. Her heart pound. He loved her like no other.

The note says

April 24th 1938
To Mae
From Mason
please write real often
An I will write when ever I can and as often
please

He missed her. She was just 21. A wonderful time in her long life.

6 Responses to “The Past in a Box”

  1. Jen said

    If I got a note like that from the love of my life, I would have cherished it too. And, oh. . . to be 21 again – not with the problems; just with the age.

    What a great letter!

  2. R.E.H. said

    Oh, that’s a wonderful trip down nostalgia lane. I love those old pictures and stuff from the past. When my Grandmother passed away we were looking at a lot of old stuff she had… it was all so sweet and innocent back in those times it seems. Nothing like the world we grew up in…

  3. Jay said

    Don’t we all wish to be treasured in exactly that way?

  4. Karen said

    That is so sweet. I want someone to miss me like that.

  5. Tink said

    Awesome. I love these little bits of the past, dragged up from the dust of long ago.

  6. DougT said

    A very sweet and moving post. Thanks.

Leave a comment