Chilly on the outside, Warm and cozy on the inside.

December 14, 2007

white-y.jpg

We had an ice storm yesterday. I braved the cold and went out to snap a few pictures with my camera that I have gained a little respect for. It was a wonderful day, I didn’t have to leave the house once. I had my little ones home with me like old times. There was fighting and commotion and chicken nuggets. I thoroughly enjoyed having them home from school even though we did nothing all that special. In fact I sat around till almost lunch time nursing myself. I have one of those colds’ where it sucks the energy from your very bones. Where one side of your face feels like you had golf balls inserted through your ear. The kind that makes you sneeze earth shattering sized sneezes.

I sat and watched as everyone’s schedule was momentarily thrown askew. To see how everyone adjusts to a change in plans. I noticed that the twin’s still expected to do writing and coloring and the littlest still expected to have buckets full of attention dumped upon him in regular intervals. I wish there were a world of ice outside my door so that I could have them with me just a little more.

They make me laugh.

They amaze me.

They are what I breathe, still.

I can’t live without them.

12 Responses to “Chilly on the outside, Warm and cozy on the inside.”

  1. G-man said

    Wonderful sentiment.

  2. Jay said

    Snow days are the best days. It’s like a bonus day for everybody to be happy and play and not have to do anything important.

    When I was a kid in school I had a friend who’s parents always set up a schedule for them when they were home on snow days. They would have to do chores and then a study hall and basically follow the same time schedule as they would at school. The rest of us would be out playing tackle football in the snow. How sad is that?

  3. Tink said

    Those big icicles are hanging off those little leaves? Wow. I forgot how crazy ice and snow could be. Would you believe it was 81 degrees here today? No shit. What is up with this weather??

  4. R.E.H. said

    Lovely picture of the icicles there.

    That’s about the only thing ice and snow is good for – nice pictures. Because I sure don’t enjoy spending time outside when it’s cold!

  5. BID said

    G-Man=Thanks:)
    Jay=Oh that is awful! Home is where you let your hair hang down!;)
    Tink=81, rub it in already. But then again you must have been miserable with that car of yours! Wouldn’t it be nice if Santa brought you a new one?
    REH=Trust me, I took those pics as fast as i could! *L* Thanks!

  6. Merri said

    Love the photo!
    Aww so sweet about your little “brood”..

  7. Laurie said

    I love the photo! I am glad you had such a wonderful day with your children.

  8. I’m not quite ready for the ice just yet. I still have to finish my shopping!

  9. DougT said

    Great photo. We got snow on Saturday. About 5″. I spent a lot of the weekend shovelling.

  10. urspo said

    it remains humbling to see people still thrown off by the weather.

  11. What a sweet post!

    I hope you feel better soon!

  12. cooper said

    You are a better person than I. I tried, in vain, to set up a wordpress blog – just to get out of the Google controlled empire – and had more problems with it. Eveytime I did something it either didn’t show up or it wasn’t what I expected. Maybe I need a class…

    Yers looks great, however….

Leave a comment